Update for TYPHOON “#RollyPH” (GONI)
issued by DOST PAGASA at 11:00 AM, 01 November 2020
Catastrophic violent winds and intense to torrential rainfall associated with the region of the eyewall and inner rainbands of the typhoon is prevailing or expected within the next 12 hours over the western portion of Camarines Sur, Marinduque, the central and southern portions of Quezon, Laguna, the eastern portion of Batangas, and Cavite. This a particularly dangerous situation for these areas.
Track and intensity outlook:
• “ROLLY” weakened into a Typhoon at 8:00 AM today.
The center of this typhoon will move towards Marinduque-Southern Quezon area this afternoon.
Afterwards, it will pass over Batangas- Cavite area this late afternoon through evening.
Between 5:00 to 8:00 PM, the center of the eye of “ROLLY” is located around 70 km south of Metro Manila. “ROLLY” is forecast to exit the mainland Luzon landmass and emerge over the Philippine Sea between tonight and tomorrow early morning.
During its traverse of Southern Luzon, “ROLLY” is forecast to slightly weaken but will emerge as a typhoon over the West Philippine Sea.
Location of eye/center At 10:00 AM today, the center of the eye of Typhoon “ROLLY” was located based on all available data including Daet Doppler Radar over the coastal waters of Pasacao, Camarines Sur or 30 km West Southwest of Pili, Camarines Sur (13.5°N, 123.0°E).
Strength Maximum sustained winds of 215 km/h near the center and gustiness of up to 295 km/h.
Movement Moving Westward at 25 km/h.
Forecast Positions
• 24 Hour (Tomorrow morning): 195 km West of Iba, Zambales (15.0°N, 118.2°E)
• 48 Hour (Tuesday morning):620 km West of Iba, Zambales (OUTSIDE PAR) (15.2°N, 114.2°E)
• 72 Hour (Wednesday morning): 890 km West of Iba, Zambales (OUTSIDE PAR) (14.9°N, 111.7°E)
(171-220 km/h winds prevailing or expected in 12 hours)
Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Albay, the northern portion of Sorsogon (Donsol, Pilar, Castilla, Sorsogon City, Prieto Diaz, Gubat, Barcelona, Juban, Casiguran, Magallanes), Burias Island, Marinduque, Metro Manila, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon including Polillo Islands, Pampanga, Bulacan, the southern portion of Aurora (Dingalan), Bataan, the southern portion of Zambales (San Marcelino, San Felipe, San Narciso, San Antonio, Castillejos, Subic, Olongapo City, Botolan, Cabangan), the northwestern portion of Occidental Mindoro(Mamburao, Paluan) including Lubang Island, and the northern portion of Oriental Mindoro (Puerto Galera, San Teodoro, Baco, Calapan City, Naujan, Pola, Victoria, Socorro, Pinamalayan)
(121-170 km/h winds prevailing or expected in 18 hours)
The rest of Sorsogon, the northern portion of Masbate (Mobo, Masbate City, Milagros, Uson, Baleno, Aroroy, Mandaon) including Ticao Island, the rest of Zambales, Romblon, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, the rest of Oriental Mindoro, Tarlac, the southern portion of Nueva Ecija (Cuyapo, Talugtug, Muñoz City, Llanera, Rizal, Bongabon, Gabaldon, General Tinio, Laur, Palayan City, General Mamerto Natividad, Cabanatuan City, Santa Rosa, Peñaranda, Gapan City, San Isidro, Cabiao, San Antonio, Jaen, San Leonardo, Zaragoza, Aliaga, Talavera, Santo Domingo, Quezon, Licab, Guimba, Nampicuan), and the central portion of Aurora (San Luis, Baler, Maria Aurora)
Northern Samar
(61-120 km/h winds prevailing or expected in 24 hours)
The rest of Aurora, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Benguet, La Union, Pangasinan, the rest of Nueva Ecija, and the rest of Masbate
The northern portion of Samar (Catbalogan City, Jiabong, Motiong, Paranas, Hinabangan, San Sebastian, Tarangnan, Pagsanghan, San Jorge, San Jose de Buan, Matuguinao, Gandara, Santa Margarita, Calbayog City, Santo Nino, Almagro, Tagapul-An), the northern portion of Eastern Samar (San Julian, Sulat, Taft, Can-Avid, Dolores, Maslog, Oras, San Policarpo, Arteche, Jipapad), the extreme northern portion of Antique (Pandan, Libertad, Caluya), and the northwestern portion of Aklan (Buruanga, Malay, Nabas, Ibajay)
(30-60 km/h winds prevailing or expected in 36 hours)
Mainland Cagayan, Isabela, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Abra, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, and the northern portion of Palawan (El Nido, Taytay, Dumaran, Araceli) including Calamian and Cuyo Islands
The rest of the northern portion of Antique (Sebaste, Culasi, Tibiao, Barbaza, Laua-An), the rest of Aklan, Capiz, the northern portion of Iloilo (Lemery, Sara, Concepcion, San Dionisio, Batad, Estancia, Balasan, Carles), the northern portion of Cebu (San Remigio, Bogo City, Medellin, Daanbantayan) including Bantayan Islands, Biliran, the rest of Samar, the rest of Eastern Samar, and the northern portion of Leyte (San Isidro, Tabango, Villaba, Matag-Ob, Palompon, Ormoc City, Pastrana, Palo, Calubian, Leyte, Kananga, Capoocan, Carigara, Jaro, Tunga, Barugo, Alangalang, Santa Fe, Tacloban City, Babatngon, San Miguel)
The public and the disaster risk reduction and management council concerned are advised to take appropriate actions and watch for the next Severe Weather Bulletin to be issued at 2 PM today.